Erykah Badu Reveals ‘But You Caint Use My Phone’ Cover Art & Tracklisting



Black Friday will soon become “Badu Friday” as the famed and eccentric singer known as Erykah Badu will release her new project, But You Caint Use My Phone. Inspired by the infamous line from 1997’s hit-single “Tyrone,” the mixtape will be available exclusively on iTunes and streaming via Apple Music for one week with a December 4 release for additional digital retailers and streaming partners.

The newest release from Ms. Badu serves as her first full project since the 2010’s New Amerykah Part Two (Return of the Ankh), and comes after fans went into a frenzy about her rendition of Drake’s hit track “Hotline Bling” – which has been renamed “Cell U Lar Device” for the project.

Featuring 11 full-length tracks, But You Caint Use My Phone was written, recorded and mixed within 12 days in her hometown of Dallas, TX. Collaborating with producer Zach Witnessin, the upcoming release has much anticipation from fans of the talented songstress. Set to include a few surprise guests – all of which recorded their contributions in the same bedroom studio – each song on the mixtape makes a clear reference to our use of telephones and how we depend on typing connected.

Erykah can also be seen hosting the 2015 Soul Train Awards on Sunday, November 29 at 8 p.m. ET on BET and will perform “Phone Down” for the first time.

Check out the tracklisting for BYCUMP below!

But You Caint Use My Phone Tracklisting

1. “Caint Use My Phone Suite”
2. “Hi”
3. “Cell U Lar Device”
4. “Phone Down”
5. “U Use To Call Me”
6. “Mr. Telephone Man”
7. “U Don’t Have To Call”
8. “Whats Yo Phone Number”
9. “Dial’afreaq”
10. “I’ll Call U Back”
11. “Hello”

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.